2010 Seed Production Research Report



The following authors have contributed to this report. Use of a commercial or proprietary product in research does not constitute an endorsement of the product by the U.S. Department of Agriculture or Oregon State University.

Columbia Basin Agricultural and Research Center

A. Ball, Professor

D.J. Wysocki, Extension Soil Scientist

  • Camelina: Potential Oil Seed Rotation Crop for the Willamette Valley

Cooperative Extension Service - OSU

N.P. Anderson, North Valley Extension Field Crops Agent, Washington, Yamhill and Polk Counties

M.E. Mellbye, District Extension Agent, Linn, Benton and Lane Counties

T.B Silberstein, Exension Agent, Marion and Clackamas Counties

D.L. Walenta, Extension Crops Specialist, Union County

Department of Crop and Soil Science – OSU

T.G. Chastain, Associate Professor, Seed Crop Physiology

D.W. Curtis, Faculty Research Assistant

A.V. Derkatch, Former Student Worker

A.J. Dreves, Research Associate, Entomology

C.J. Garbacik, Senior Faculty Research Assistant

B.J. Hinds-Cook, Faculty Research Assistant

G.D. Hoffman, Research Associate, IPM

A.G. Hulting, Assistant Professor, Extension Weeds Specialist

J.M. Kaser, Faculty Research Assistant, Entomology

C.A. Mallory-Smith, Professor of Weed Science

S. Maxfield-Taylor, Graduate Student, Entomology

S. Rao, Professor, Entomology

K.M. Skyrm, Graduate Research Assistant, Entomology

W.P. Stephen, Professor Emeritus, Entomology

W.C. Young III, Professor Emeritus, Extension Seed Production

Department of Fisheries and Wildlife

B.D Duggar, Associate Professor

T.S. Garcia, Assistant Professor

W.J. Gerth, Senior Faculty Research Assistant

J.A. Gervais, Wildlife Ecologist

G. R. Giannico, Associate Professor

A.T. Herlihy, Professor (Senior Research)

J.L. Li, Courtesy Professor

L.A. Wyss, Student

Hermiston Experiment Station

S.I. Rondon, Assistant Professor

National Forage Seed Production Research Center - USDA-ARS

S.C. Alderman, Professor and Research Plant Pathologist

G.M. Banowetz, Research Microbiologist and Research Leader

S.M. Griffith, Professor and Research Plant Physiologist

G.W. Mueller-Warrant, Associate Professor and Research Agronomist

W.F. Pfender, Professor and Research Plant Physiologist

G.W. Whittaker, Research Hydrologist


This report has been published with a grant from the Oregon Seed Council

Appreciation is expressed to the Officers of the
2010-2011 Oregon Seed Council:

Larry Venell, President
John Odenthal, FirstVice President
Nick Bowers, Second Vice President
Don Doerfler, Treasurer
Roger Beyer, Executive Secretary

Business Address

Oregon Seed Council
494 State Street, Suite 220
Salem, OR 97301
Tel: (503) 585-1157
FAX: (503) 585-1292
E-mail: roger@rwbeyer.com

Sincere appreciation is also extended to the growers who have allowed trials to be conducted on their farms. Data presented in many of the research reports would not be available without their cooperation.

Lastly, appreciation is also expressed to Mrs. Barbara Reed for her conscientious attention to detail in formatting this manuscript for publication.