2011 Seed Production Research


Author Index

The following authors have contributed to this report. Use of a commercial or proprietary product in research does not constitute an endorsement of the product by the U.S. Department of Agriculture or Oregon State University.

Central Oregon Agricultural Research Center

M.D. Butler, Professor and Superintendent

R.B. Simmons, Senior Faculty Research Assistant

J.M. Weber, former student worker

Columbia Basin Agricultural and Research Center

D.A. Ball, Professor

Cooperative Extension Service – OSU

N.P. Anderson, North Valley Extension Field Crops Agent, Washington, Yamhill and Polk Counties

M.E. Mellbye, District Extension Agent, Linn, Benton and Lane Counties

T.B. Silberstein, Extension Agent, Marion and Clackamas Counties

D.L. Walenta, Extension Crops Specialist, Union County

Department of Crop and Soil Science – OSU

T.G. Chastain, Associate Professor, Seed Crop Physiology

A.R. Corkery, Student Technician, Entomology

D.W. Curtis, Faculty Research Assistant

G.C. Fisher, Professor Emeritus, Extension Entomologist

C.J. Garbacik, Senior Faculty Research Assistant

A.G. Hulting, Assistant Professor, Extension Weeds Specialist

C.A. Mallory-Smith, Professor of Weed Science

S. Rao, Professor, Entomology

K.C. Roerig, Faculty Research Assistant

W.C. Young III, Professor Emeritus, Extension Seed Production

Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center

G.H. Clough, Associate Professor

P.B. Hamm, Professor and Superintendent

National Forage Seed Production Research Center - USDA-ARS/h3>

S.C. Alderman, Professor and Research Plant Pathologist

G.M. Banowetz, Research Microbiologist and Research Leader

S.M. Griffith, Professor and Research Plant Physiologist

G.W. Mueller-Warrant, Associate Professor and Research Agronomist

G.W. Whittaker, Research Hydrologist

Corvallis Plant Materials Center – USDA-NRCS

D.C. Darris, Conservation Agronomist

A. Young-Mathews, Conservation Agronomist


This report has been published with a grant from the Oregon Seed Council. Appreciation is expressed to the Officers of the 2011-2012 Oregon Seed Council:

John Odenthal, President
Nick Bowers, First Vice President
Bill Dunn, Second Vice President
Don Doerfler, Treasurer
Roger Beyer, Executive Secretary

Business Address:

Oregon Seed Council
494 State Street, Suite 220
Salem, OR 97301
Tel: (503) 585-1157
FAX: (503) 585-1292
E-mail: roger@rwbeyer.com

Sincere appreciation is also extended to the growers who have allowed trials to be conducted on their farms. Data presented in many of the research reports would not be available without their cooperation.

Lastly, appreciation is also expressed to Ms. Tracy Mitzel for her conscientious attention to detail in formatting this manuscript for publication.