2009 Seed Production Research Report



Central Oregon Agricultural Research Center

M.D. Butler, Superintendent

K.J. Marling, Bio Technician

L.L. Samsel, Seed Certification Assistant

Cooperative Extension Service - OSU

R.P. Affeldt, Extension Agent, Jefferson County

N.P. Anderson, Extension Agent, Washington County

M.G. Bohle, Extension Agent, Crook County

M.E. Mellbye, District Extension Agent, Linn, Benton and Lane Counties

Department of Botany and Plant Pathology - OSU

R.E. Berry, Professor Emeritus

Department of Crop and Soil Science – OSU

J.R. Cassidy, Instructor

D.W. Curtis, Faculty Research Assistant

R.P. Dick, former Professor, Soil Science

M.I. Dragila, Associate Professor, Soil Physics

A.J. Dreves, Faculty Research Assistant

G.C. Fisher, Professor, Extension Entomology

C.J. Garbacik, Senior Faculty Research Assistant

J.M. Hart, Professor and Extension Soil Scientist

B.J. Hinds-Cook, Faculty Research Assistant

G.D. Hoffman, Faculty Research Associate, IPM

A.G. Hulting, Assistant Professor, Extension Weeds Specialist

J.M. Kaser, Graduate Student, Entomology

C.A. Mallory-Smith, Professor of Weed Science

S. Rao, Assistant Professor, Entomology

K.M. Skyrm, Graduate Research Assistant, Entomology

W.C. Young III, Professor and Extension Agronomist

Department of Fisheries and Wildlife

J.A. Gervais, Wildlife Ecologist

Hermiston Experiment Station

J.C. Holcomb III, Graduate Research Assistant

D.A. Horneck, Associate Professor

National Forage Seed Production Research Center - USDA-ARS

S.C. Alderman, Professor and Research Plant Pathologist

G.M. Banowetz, Research Microbiologist and Research Leader

J.H. Davis, Research Affiliate - Soil Scientist

H.M. El-Nashaar, Research Molecular Biologist

W.E. Gavin, Faculty Research Assistant

S.M. Griffith, Assistant Professor and Research Plant Physiologist

R.C. Martin, Research Molecular Biologist

G.W. Mueller-Warrant, Associate Professor and Research Agronomist

J.J. Steiner, former Professor and Research Agronomist

G.W. Whittaker, Research Hydrologist


P.J. Wigington, Jr., Research Hydrologist, EPA, Corvallis

M.E. Zarnstorff, Director of Agricultural Research/Technology, National Crop Insurance Services, Overland Park, KS


This report has been published with a grant from the Oregon Seed Council

Appreciation is expressed to the Officers of the 2009-2010 Oregon Seed Council:

Matt Herb, President
Larry Venell, First Vice President
John Odenthal, Second Vice President
Jerry Marguth, Treasurer
Roger Beyer, Executive Secretary

Business Address:

Oregon Seed Council
1193 Royvonne, S., Suite 11
Salem, OR 97302
Tel: (503) 585-1157
FAX: (503) 585-1292
Email: roger@rwbeyer.com

Sincere appreciation is also extended to the growers who have allowed trials to be conducted on their farms. Data presented in many of the research reports would not be available without their cooperation.

Lastly, appreciation is also expressed to Mrs. Barbara Reed for her conscientious attention to detail in formatting this manuscript for publication.