2018 Seed Production Research Report



Author Index

Ag Conservation Solutions, LLC

D.L. Towery, Agricultural Consultant

Central Oregon Agricultural Research Center

Q. Cheng, Research Associate

J.K.S. Dung, Assistant Professor, Plant Pathology

E.A. Jeliazkova, Faculty Research Assistant

T.M. Wilson, Agricultural Literacy Coordinator

Department of Crop and Soil Science—OSU

P.A. Berry, Graduate Student, Weed Science

L.K. Bobadilla, Graduate Student, Weed Science

T.G. Chastain, Professor, Seed Crop Physiology

D.W. Curtis, Senior Faculty Research Assistant, Weed Science

S.G. Elias, Professor, Seed Science and Technology

C.J. Garbacik, Senior Faculty Research Assistant, Seed Crop Physiology 

T.M. Hudgins, Graduate Student, Seed Crop Physiology 

A.G. Hulting, Associate Professor, Extension Weed Specialist 

M.L. Klein, Faculty Research Assistant

C.A. Mallory-Smith, Professor (emeritus), Weed Science 

R.J. McDonnell, Assistant Professor, Slug Specialist 

A.D. Moore, Assistant Professor, Extension Soil Fertility Specialist 

K.C. Roerig, Senior Faculty Research Assistant, Weed Science 

Cooperative Extension Service—OSU 

N.P. Anderson, Area Extension Agronomist, North Willamette Valley 

W.P. Jessie, Area Extension Agronomist, South Willamette Valley

M.E. Mellbye, Area Extension Agronomist (emeritus), Linn County

S.N. Rasmussen, Student Research Technician, Union County

C.S. Sullivan, Small Farms and Community Food Systems Agent, Deschutes County

D.L. Walenta, Area Extension Agronomist, Union County

Hermiston Experiment Station

K.E. Frost, Assistant Professor, Botany and Plant Pathology

Jasper County (Indiana) Soil and Water Conservation District

D.M. Perkins, Watershed Specialist

National Forage Seed Production Research Center--USDA-ARS

G.W. Mueller-Warrant, Associate Professor and Research Agronomist

K.M. Trippe, Research Microbiologist


This report has been published with a grant from the Oregon Seed Council
Appreciation is expressed to the Officers of the 2018–2019 Oregon Seed Council:
Kent Burkholder, President
Charles Ortiz, Vice President
Bruce Ruddenklau, Second Vice President
Don Doerfler, Treasurer
Greg Loberg, Immediate Past President
Business Address:
Oregon Seed Council
494 State Street, Suite 220
Salem, OR 97301
Tel: (503) 585-1157
FAX: (503) 585-1292
Sincere appreciation is also extended to the growers who have allowed trials to be conducted on their farms. Data presented in many of the research reports would not be available without their cooperation.
Lastly, appreciation is expressed to Teresa Welch, Wild Iris Communications, for her conscientious attention to detail in formatting this manuscript for publication.