2012 Seed Production Research Report


Author Index

The following authors have contributed to this report. Use of a commercial or proprietary product in research does not constitute an endorsement of the product by the U.S. Department of Agriculture or Oregon State University.

Central Oregon Agricultural Research Center

G. Sbatella, Assistant Professor, Weed Scientist

S. Twelker, Biological Sciences Research Technician

Cooperative Extension Service – OSU

N.P. Anderson, North Valley Extension Field Crops Agent, Washington, Yamhill and Polk Counties

D.L. Walenta, Extension Crops Specialist, Union County

Department of Crop and Soil Science – OSU

T.G. Chastain, Associate Professor, Seed Crop Physiology

A.R. Corkery, Technician, Entomology

D.W. Curtis, Faculty Research Assistant, Weed Science

S. Elias, Associate Professor, Senior Research, Seed Science and Technology

A. Garay, Manager of OSU Seed Laboratory

C.J. Garbacik, Senior Faculty Research Assistant, Seed Crop Physiology

R. Hankins, Instructor and Seed Certification Specialist

G.D. Hoffman, Faculty Research Assistant, Integrated Pest Management

A.G. Hulting, Associate Professor, Extension Weeds Specialist

C.A. Mallory-Smith, Professor, Weed Science

S. Rao, Professor, Entomology

K.C. Roerig, Faculty Research Assistant, Weed Science

W.C. Young III, Professor Emeritus, Extension Seed Production

Department of Horticulture – OSU

D. Bruck, Courtesy Research Entomologist (USDA-ARS)

Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center

P.B. Hamm, Station Director and Professor Emeritus

Hermiston Experiment Station

J.K.S. Dung, Postdoctoral Scholar, Plant Pathology

National Forage Seed Production Research Center - USDA-ARS

S.C. Alderman, Professor and Research Plant Pathologist

G.M. Banowetz, Research Plant Physiologist and Research Leader

B.L. Barnhart, Research Physical Scientist

S.M. Griffith, Professor and Research Plant Physiologist

G.W. Mueller-Warrant, Associate Professor and Research Agronomist

W. Pfender, Research Plant Pathologist

G.W. Whittaker, Research Hydrologist

Private Industry

D. Gady, Engineer, Farm Power, Rockford, WA


This report has been published with a grant from the Oregon Seed Council

Appreciation is expressed to the Officers of the 2012-2013 Oregon Seed Council:
Nick Bowers, President
Bill Dunn, First Vice President
Denver Pugh, Second Vice President
Don Doerfler, Treasurer
Roger Beyer, Executive Director

Business Address
Oregon Seed Council
494 State Street, Suite 220
Salem, OR 97301
Tel: (503) 585-1157
FAX: (503) 585-1292
E-mail: roger@rwbeyer.com

Sincere appreciation is also extended to the growers who have allowed trials to be conducted on their farms. Data presented in many of the research reports would not be available without their cooperation.

Lastly, appreciation is also expressed to Ms. Tracy Mitzel for her conscientious attention to detail in formatting this manuscript for publication.

Now available online at http://cropandsoil.oregonstate.edu/seed-ext