OSU ScholarDollars Header Graphic

OSU ScholarDollars is Oregon State University's online scholarship search and application portal! 

Apply Now


ALL students currently enrolled in an Crop and Soil Science degree program are eligible to apply. This includes students taking courses at OSU’s main Corvallis campus, OSU's location on the Eastern Oregon University campus in La Grande, OSU’s distance-education program, or OSU’s degree partnership program with select Oregon community colleges.


Often, many criteria other than academic record and financial need are used to select scholarship recipients. The Crop and Soil Science Department determines eligibility for scholarships and makes final selection of award recipients.

Application Process

To apply for Crop and Soil Science scholarships, complete the OSU ScholarDollars Application between November 1 and February 1 to maximize the number of scholarships for which you will be considered. Most OSU scholarships have application deadlines on or after February 15, 2021, but specific deadlines may vary.

By utilizing this application, you may apply for all of the scholarship awards available through the Crop and Soil Science program scholarships program, as well as other OSU departments (such as the College of Agricultural Sciences) and external scholarships.

Other Scholarship Opportunities

  • Timothy Scott Wirth Memorial Scholarship - Offered through the Crop and Soil Science Department. It requires a separate application and is only available to those who have or will graduate from a Linn County high school.
  • Calvin & Merle Smith Wheat Research Endowment Fund - Supports a student’s work on an OSU wheat research project in any College of Agricultural Sciencs academic department or Agricultural Experiment Station branch station. The purpose of this program is to provide financial assistance to undergraduate students in the College of Agricultural Sciences and related fields who are working on OSU wheat research projects. Funds may be used to help offset expenses including transportation, living expenses, tuition, projects, and research only. Download the application
  • John Flanagan Memorial Scholarship – Based on financial need and involvement in some aspect of seed production, technology or science.  Crop and Soil Science Scholarship Committee selects 5 to 6 undergraduate nominees for interviews.

  • Oregon Seed Association Scholarship – awarded to an Oregon resident based on financial need and pursuit of career in field related to seed production, improvement or marketing.  Committee selects 2 or more nominees for interviews.  Each nominee needs to submit a letter outlining need and qualifications; a letter from an advisor, supervisor or counselor; and an application.

  • Oregon Society of Weed Science Scholarship – committee selects two nominees from CSS and two nominees from HORT for interviews. Nominees will have an interest in weed science and at least one year enrolled in school with a cumulative of 3.0 GPA. Two awards will be made – one for eastern Oregon (EOU program) and one for western Oregon (OSU-Corvallis).

  • Oregon Seed Cleaning – awarded based on Sophomore, Junior, Senior, Oregon resident, academics, financial need, career goals in seed production, marketing, improvement

  • Oregon Seed Growers League Scholarship – awarded to student with interests in the seed industry that is either from Oregon or plans to stay in Oregon, based on financial need more than academic achievement.  Selection is forwarded to the Oregon Seed Growers League.  Request that the awardee attend the annual OSGL meeting for presentation of the award.

  • William and Heidi Geshwill – awarded based on Junior, Senior, GPA 3.0 or better, return to family farm

  • Larry Burrill – awarded based on financial need, interest in international agriculture and/or weed science.


Email rachel.swindon@oregonstate.edu or call (541) 737-1286.